Jott this down (Thing #14)

I confess — I have a real weakness for online productivity apps. I’m trying out new ones all the time (though I can’t always profess to being more productive as a result 🙂 ). So, I wanted to mention one that is a current fave of mine that did not appear on any of the sites listed under Thing 14. It’s called Jott. As they succinctly describe it on their website, “Jott converts your voice into emails, text messages, reminders, lists and appointments.” What that means is that you can be away from your computer but still easily send an (short) email to someone or put something on your calendar or to-do list. Perfect for those of us with primitive cellphones, live sans a PDA or are otherwise organizationally-challenged. If I make an appointment while I’m out and about, I just call the Jott number on my cellphone, tell it to call Google Calendar, and then say what I want put on my calendar on what day. So far, it’s worked like a charm every time. Great as a bill reminder service, too.

In the classroom, I suppose you could use it if you wanted to send your students an email or text message (you can set up the service to send to different groups of people, e.g. you could create a list of just your ENG 112 class or whaterver) even while you are away from your computer — assignment reminder, interesting tidbit you just stumbled across that you might otherwise forget to mention to them.

BTW, one of my favorite sites for staying on top of new apps (and, in fact, where I learned about Jott) is lifehacker.com.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Jott this down (Thing #14)”

  1. McMillan Says:

    I often find some great tools through Lifehacker as well, and it sounds as if Jott could solve my problem of having little scraps of paper with “to-do” notes in every purse, pocket and corner of my life. It would be great if it could be used with our Outlook calendars.

  2. melissaautumn Says:

    Thanks for the link to Lifehacker. My usual method of learning about new technology is to keep my ear to the ground at work, but since I won’t be coming into the office soon, I need a new method!

  3. mcpvlibrary Says:

    FYI…I have already found Jott to be so useful, especially since I am often “on the go.” I was running errands the other day when I remembered something I wanted to do for the upcoming Poetry Jam and simply Jotted myself an email reminder to see when I arrived at work the next morning. I would still like to update my contacts list so that I can begin using the service to its full potential.

Leave a Reply

