Ghosts in the Machine (Thing #5)

It’s my own darn fault for choosing a different platform I guess. I wanted to comment on a post on Cashion’s Corner, but I ran into to two glitches. First, I could not find a way to provide a hyperlink within the comment. I might have been able to use HTML code to do it but that would require me to look up the code (ugh!). Seems Blogger does not provide the familiar link icon in its comments editor.

The other problem was identity. I wanted to leave my comment as Knowledge Nomad, but this did not seem possible either. Anonymous comments were also not allowed (which is fine, I can understand the rationale behind that), so I had to use my Google account. Not a tragedy, but I was just surprised about the lack of interoperability between the Blogger and WordPress platforms.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Ghosts in the Machine (Thing #5)”

  1. McMillan Says:

    As we discovered, in order for a person to comment on a blog hosted by Blogger with their identity from any other blogging software (like WordPress), the owner of the blog must first go into their “Settings” and choose this option under the “Comments” field.

  2. Melissa Says:

    Darren,

    I bit the bullet today and got a Google account, just I could reply to all the folks on that platform. One more password to remember. Sigh….

    On another note, I’m trying to recapture my HTML skills and then upgrade them to CSS and XHTML. I used my cursory HTML to add a link to a comment on Aquarius’s blog. Links are pretty easy:

    Title

    url is the url of the place you are linking to (you need to use the quotes) and Title is the words you want to be hyper-linked

  3. Melissa Says:

    Oops, it made that a link because I entered html. Try this:

    Title

    If this doesn’t work, I’ll have to give it to you on a post-it note.

  4. Melissa Says:

    OK, so there’s a way to code it so the html code I’m writing is printed, rather than converted to hyper-text, but I don’t know how to do that. More to learn….

Leave a Reply

